library-chemical-process-control
Chemical Process Control: A chemical engineering textbook by George Stephanopoulos

My first interaction with Chemical Process Control written by George Stephanopoulos occurred on my 3rd year in college. And I was impressed, up to now. Stephanopoulos is so eloquent that I got crystal-clear understanding about what control system is and chemical engineering in general. I had compared it with other books on the same subject, still I consider his Chemical Process Control the best of all. I’m sure this book is still among those which contain relevant information.

I think beginners will find Stephanopoulos’ process control useful; not only on the topic of process control, but also the realm of chemical engineering mathematics modeling. It is equipped with clear-written examples and instructions, starting from simple steady-state system to the more complex dynamic or transient system. Indeed, it covers only introduction, but I don’t think anyone will get difficulties if he or she wants something more on the topic.

Through this book, Stephanopoulos has established himself as an outstanding chemical process control crusader. He starts the book with basic understanding of chemical process control which is then followed by control systems and its analysis. Process modeling and processing system follow then, coupled with how to understand or determine system stability using Routh Hurwitz stability criterion or Nyquist stability criterion.

Stephanopoulos also introduces the use of Laplace transform in control system while keeps giving clear and comprehensive explanations about transfer function. For me, Stephanopoulos is credited for introducing me to the other MATLAB Toolbox called Simulink. I still remember the days Simulink brought joyful moments. I encourage you to read this book if you want to understand process control better. Othwerwise, you should find another book, which I think quite impossible.

Leave a Reply

